Article - F150 - Winners of Champions Trophy 2018
View Article

F150 - Winners of Champions Trophy 2018

Fcl - Ford Cricket League Admin (FCLFordCricketLeagueAdmin)

F150 - Winners of Champions Trophy 2018

Well well well. What a game it turned out to be between two champion teams. We couldn’t have asked for more in finals. High scoring game, power hitting, wickets falling in heap, last ball tie and then a super over to decide the champions. It was a great night for all cricket fans to witness such a breathtaking finals. At one stage it looked like GT is cruising towards victory but F150 held on to their nerve to deliver their best bowling performance of the season to push the match to super over. Clearly they have saved their best or the last.

F150 won the toss and elected to bat first to repeat the finals of 2017. F150 didn’t got the start that they expected as they lost their opener in 4th over with only 6 runs on the board. Sandeep came in at 3 and got the innings going with Chetan. Chetan ended with being top scorer for F150 in finals and ensured they have a good platform to launch in later part of the innings. Vijay, Ashwani, Manoj and Azeem capitalized the solid start and smashed a six each to score 49 runs in last 6 overs to push their score to 99. Raj, Kiran were economical and picked up wickets between them to put brakes on scoring.

GT started off their chase in the best possible way as once again Raj stood out with the bat. GT maintained a healthy run rate throughout the chase. Once Raj was out, Vraj, Praveen and Navpreet went into slogging mode to put GT in touching distance. At the end of 16 overs GT required 10 runs with 7 wickets in hand. Everyone expected the match was going in one way but F150 had other plans. This tough situation brought the best out of F150.

Final Collapse:

Manoj started the collapse by picking 2 crucial wickets in 17th over and gave 4 runs. Equation now was 6 runs to win from 3 overs with 5 wickets. Then came in the Detroit Express and it was indeed a killer stroke. Dinesh Pandeti not only bowled the 18th over as a maiden but he picked up 3 wickets to rattle GT. With that magical over, now the game was in balance with 6 runs from 2 overs with 2 wickets. F150 went with a spinner in 19th over as a surprise element. Chetan lived upto the expectation and delivered a maiden to give F150 the advantage in final over. With 6 needed of last over,

Srikanth came in for his final over. With a wicket of first ball and followed by couple of wides, players started to feel the pressure. GT were expecting couple more balls to go their way, F150 were expecting to get one ball right and Spectators were expecting a tie for super over. When 2 runs needed off last ball, GT only managed to get a single as they lost their final wicket in the process of stealing the second run. Scores were tied and to every once joy the finals went into super over.

Super over:

GT picked Raj, Vraj and Praveen as their batsmen for super over and Vraj as bowler. On the other hand F150 went with Dinesh Pandeti, Sandeep and Manoj as batsmen. Speed star Pandeti was picked to deliver one last time for F150 this season.

Dinesh lived upto the expectation as he just gave one run in the super over. GT stealed a run of first ball but lost a wicket off third ball stealing another single. Dinesh wrapped up the over with wicket off his 5th ball to restrict GT for one run in super over.

Vraj came in to defend one run with Dinesh on strike. Dinesh got single off the first ball and leveled the scores. With the second ball being a wide, F150 went past GT in a nerve breaking finals to defend their title successfully.

We would like to congratulate F150 for the Champions trophy and appreciate both GT and F150 for putting on such show in finals.

You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login