Article - Lincolns - Winners of Contenders Trophy 2018
View Article

Lincolns - Winners of Contenders Trophy 2018

Fcl - Ford Cricket League Admin (FCLFordCricketLeagueAdmin)

Lincolns - Winners of Contenders Trophy 2018

We had a thrilling game of contenders final yesterday with Lincoln beating Visteon by 20 runs to register their name in history books as inaugural winners of FCL Contenders Trophy. It was a tough ask for Visteon after Lincolns won the toss and elected to bat first as Visteon didn't had a successful chase this season.

Lincolns didn't start their innings in the way what they would have liked. They lost their first wicket in second over but Skipper Sarvesh once again stood for them to build the innings. He got a good support from Naren. They both put on 52 runs in 10 overs and laid a strong foundation. At one stage Lincoln were at 68/2 and looked to reach score in excess of 100 but Visteon had other plans. Their bowlers came back strong in last 6 overs to pick 8 wickets or 15 runs. Riten was once again stood out for Visteon with 2 wickets for 8 runs while Deepak chipped in with couple of wickets to assist Riten.

Chasing a score o 84 in the finals was always a tough ask but openers Sai and Naveen gave a solid start with 26 runs from 5 overs. At halfway stage Visteon were 42/2 and required another 42 in last 10 overs with 8 wickets in hand. But Lincolns lived up to the expectation of their bowling strength and came back strong in second half of the innings to pick 8 wickets for 21 runs to wrap up Visteon to a score of 63 and ensured a convincing win.

Both the teams have put on a great fight and showed true sportsmanship throughout the season. From FCL board we would like to thank each player for their efforts this season. Congrats Lincoln for becoming the inaugural winner of Contenders Trophy.


You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login